Research Help
Library FAQ's--borrowing a computer, reserve a study room, etc.
Set up a research consultation--contact your subject librarian
FAQs
- What is EndNote?
- How can I search the catalogs of NYU Libraries using EndNote?
- Can I search the catalogs of other libraries?
- What databases can I search using EndNote?
- How can I import results of searches into EndNote?
- What is Direct Export and which databases have it?
- Is there a way to make Direct Export work with Mac OS X?
- Is there a way to create durable links to the full text of articles and books in my EndNote citations?
- How can I export citations from Google Scholar to EndNote?
- Can I convert my existing RefWorks, ProCite, Citation, Reference Manager or other bib manager database to EndNote?
- Which is right for me: EndNote or RefWorks?
- Does the Library provide classes for EndNote?
- Is there a mailing list (listserv) I can join?
What is EndNote?
NYU Libraries supports the use of EndNote for managing bibliographic citations. Using EndNote, you can transfer groups of references retrieved from online bibliographic databases into your EndNote database and create bibliographies in a variety of formats using Microsoft Word or WordPerfect. NYU community members can now download NYU-licensed copies of EndNote for free. NYU-licensed EndNote is available for PC and MacOS X 10.4+ (including Leopard). There is no Unix version.
How can I search the catalogs of NYU Libraries using EndNote?
EndNote 3.0 + users can connect directly to the following NYU Libraries catalogs and download records into their EndNote database.
| Library Catalog | Use Connection File |
|---|---|
| BobCat | BobCat Connection File |
| MedCat (Medical School) | NYU MEDCat Connection File |
| Julius (Law School) | NYU Law Connection File |
Can I search the catalogs of other libraries?
You can search the catalogs of many academic and special libraries via EndNote. Connection files for many of these are included in your EndNote program. Connection files for libraries are also available from the EndNote website.
What databases can I search using EndNote?
EndNote versions 3.0+ come with scripts to connect to Z39.50 databases. (Z39.50 is a common database searching language). However, in most cases, EndNote only supports password authentication. At this time, NYU Libraries is only providing authentication via IP address, so many of the connection files provided by EndNote cannot be used without modification.To get more information on how to modify connection files for NYU-licensed databases, contact Gloria Rohmann, gr1@nyu.edu
How can I import results of searches into EndNote?
For databases and libraries that do not provide Direct Export, EndNote uses filters to import records into your personal library. Filters are specific to the resource and interface. (e.g. Medline = resource, and Ovid = interface). Consult the chart on the Filters Page to see which EndNote Filter to use and how to download records.
Mac OS X text file import problem
Users of EndNote on OS X have reported that EndNote does not recognize text files saved from database searches as files it can import using filters. Follow this procedure to import text files into EndNote using filters:
- Save references as text files (this includes references you have emailed to yourself) on the Desktop
- Open EndNote
- Drag and drop textfiles to the EndNote icon on the Dock, while holding down the Option and Apple keys.
- EndNote will ask you which Library to import the text files into, and which filter to use.
- Choose the Library and filter and references will import.
Is there a way to link to full text of articles and books in my EndNote citations?
Yes. Users of EndNote V. 8+ (for Mac or PC) can configure EndNote references to link to NYU's OpenURL service (also called SFX):
- Go to Edit menu and choose Preferences
- Choose OpenURL
- Choose Enable OpenURL
- In OpenURL path box, enter: http://sfx.library.nyu.edu:8888/bobst_nyu
- To use OpenURL, open a reference and use the OpenURL Link command on the References menu to start your default web browser and display related record links in the browser window. OpenURL Link connects NYU's SFX server and uses EndNote's OpenURL preferences along with data in your EndNote record to find related online data.
How can I export citations from Google Scholar to EndNote?
- Connect to http://scholar.google.com
- Click on "Scholar Preferences"
- Scroll down to "Bibliography Manager"
- Choose EndNote. Now all your Google Scholar results will be linked to or "Import into EndNote."
- Save your preferences when finished and return to search.
What is Direct Export and which databases have it?
You can use Direct Export to import selected references directly to EndNote, without saving, downloading and importing using filters. Consult the chart on the Direct Export Page to see which databases offer Direct Export. Your copy of EndNote must be on the same computer.If you are working on a Library computer, use EndNote Web.
NOTE FOR MAC OS X USERS: To use Direct Export, use either Mozilla, Firefox or Netscape to search online databases. (Safari and Internet Explorer cannot associate the exported references with EndNote.)
Can I convert my existing RefWorks, ProCite, Citation 6, 7, Reference Manager or other bib manager database to EndNote?
Yes. Download the appropriate conversion utility from the EndNote website.
Which is right for me: EndNote or RefWorks?
RefWorks is available only online, while EndNote is software you load on your personal computer. RefWorks subscriptions are now available free to NYU alumni, and NYU-licensed copies of EndNote may be retained when you leave NYU. There are advantages to having Refworks online: there is no software to load and it is available anywhere you are that is connected to the Internet. These are also disadvantages: you must be online to access your Refworks database.
Some researchers prefer EndNote because they feel more secure with a local copy of their database. If you own a laptop, and are planning to do work in areas where there may not be a connection to the Internet (such as archives, or libraries other than NYU), you might prefer to get EndNote. Both programs offer the same ability to download results of searches from online databases and libraries, and the same ability to insert footnotes in papers and create bibliographies.
Compare EndNote to RefWorks (courtesy of Ehrman Medical Library).
Does the Library provide classes for EndNote?
Yes. Classes are offered each semester. See http://library.nyu.edu/classes to sign up.
Is there a EndNote User mailing list (listserv) I can join?
Yes. To join the list, see http://www.endnote.com/support/en-interest.asp.
My Profile |
Gloria RohmannDescription
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait