Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

RefWorks 

RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management tool.
Last update: Feb 17th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/refworks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Adding References             Print Page
  
 

Adding BobCat catalog references from within RefWorks

You can search BobCat (NYU Libraries online catalog) directly from RefWorks. This is a quick way to add references to materials found in BobCat. You can also add journal article citations by searching some of our databases from within the RefWorks interface. However, we have hundreds of databases, and most are not available from RefWorks. Most databases provide the option of exporting your references to RefWorks, so for database searching, it's easiest from within the database.

  1. From the search menu select online catalog or database
  2. Choose NYU / BobCat from the drop down list (it should be the first item listed)
  3. Perform a search using Quick or Advanced search
  4. Search results will appear in a new window. Use the check boxes beside each citation you'd like to import (or if you'd like to import all references on the page, make sure the radio button All in list is selected.
  5. Once you've chosen which references to import, choose your appropriate folder.
  6. Your citations have now been added to your RefWorks database, both in the folder you've selected, as well as in the "last imported folder" (all new references automatically get added to the default "last imported" folder) When you next log into RefWorks these citations will be stored in the folder you've selected for them.
 

Exporting References from an Article Database

Many of the article databases available via NYU Libraries allow you to export citations directly to RefWorks. Exporting from each database will be slightly different, but you can structure your approach using the following steps:

  1. Under the save or export function within the article database, select or click on the save to RefWorks option.
  2. If you are already signed into your RefWorks account, the import will automatically begin. If you are not signed into RefWorks, you will be directed to the RefWorks login page; after you log in the import will automatically begin.
  3. When the import is complete, view your Last Imported folder to review the imported records.

Note: Always review your references for accuracy after each import.

Direct export to RefWorks is available from the following database services: ABC-CLIO, BioMed Central, BioOne, CSA, Engineering Village 2, EBSCOHost, NISC, Project Muse, OCLC, OVID, ProQuest, Scopus, SFX, H.W. Wilson, and Congressional Quarterly.

 

 

Exporting References Using SFX

Most article databases available via NYU Libraries include a gray SFX button when full text of a given item is not available. Once you click on the SFX button a window will pop up offering several methods of locating the item. Use the following steps to export a citation from this SFX window into RefWorks:

  1. Click the More Options link at the bottom of the window.
  2. Click the Download citation using RefWorks Direct Export Tool link.
  3. A RefWorks window will appear, showing that your resords are being uploaded. When upload is complete, click the View last imported folder button to view your new references.
 

Adding References Manually

  1. Log in to your RefWorks account.
  2. Select References > Add New Reference from the RefWorks tool bar.
  3. Select an appropriate bibliographic output style (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago) from the pulldown menu at the top of the New Reference window.
  4. Under Ref Type, designate the type of reference you are entering (e.g. journal, book, dissertation).
  5. Enter citation information in the fields provided. Field names marked with a red asterisk (*) indicate information required in order to create an accurate bibliography for the selected output style and reference type. These fields are only required for accurate output; references can be saved in RefWorks without completing the "required" fields.
  6. Click Save References when your citation information is complete.

Note: Click on any red asterisk (*) to view style-specific notes. You can also check for style changes by clicking the More detailed information here link at the bottom of the page.

 

Adding References from BobCat

You can export references to RefWorks directly from your search results in BobCat.

  1. Click on the GetIt link for any item.
  2. A pop-up window listing holdings information will appear. Click the Additional Services tab.
  3. Click the More Options link at the bottom of the window.
  4. Click on Download Citation Using RefWorks Direct Export Tool.
  5. A RefWorks window will appear, showing that your resords are being uploaded. When upload is complete, click the View last imported folder button to view your new references.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait